NavigationCategoriesAdministrivia Wyldangels Categories: User loginWho's onlineThere are currently 0 users and 1 guest online.
Recent blog posts
|
Todays Spam Warning - Aerial Impressions, you're in my shitlist (don't trade with these guys!)Just received an obvious Spam; it was directed to an email address used solely for domain name management (i.e. it was plucked out of a domain 'whois' output). That was the first sign of trouble. Plenty more... Next we have a firm offering a special on aerial photography of NZ. I should be grateful they got my country right, I suppose? Embedded links point to a .co.nz (aerialimpressions.co.nz) - it appears to have valid, if limited, registration details (registrant = Aerial Impressions, address in Australia (City, no state given, though it appears it's in Victoria). A look on the Australian ABN Lookup tool for 'Aerial Impressions' reveals that it is a Trading Name for a company actually known as DGB Technologies Pty Ltd. When I used Google to search for "DGB TECHNOLOGIES PTY LTD" (copy/pasted from the ABR Site), they 'automagically' provided me with DBG Technologies - note the B and G are transposed! - as the first hit, along with several more. I didn't notice this until I was contacted by a helpful reader - and by one of the directors of DBG, seeking to clarify!! I apologise profusely to DBG - the legitimate, South Australia Registered firm who appear to be unrelated to DGB. Just for entertainment, feel free to compare their entries in the ABR: DGB Technologies (Trading as Aerial Impressions) and DBG Technologies Pty Ltd who have their website at http://www.dbgtechnologies.com.au/ - note the spelling. I personally note that the use of a Trading Name to register a domain name may well be a grey area in the context of the .nz Terms and Conditions for Registering Domain Names, but I'll let that one ride as it's not the worst... Next point of note; The email text cites: Email sent by If I throw '24 Moorefield Rd, Wellington' into Google Maps, guess what I find! ![]() Business Registration Advice? Virtual Offices?! The latter links to another domain I won't turn to a hyperlink - companynz.com - who offer the means to obtain a registered office in NZ - a requirement for registering a business in NZ - and then guidance on registering New Zealand Businesses. (Gee, shades of recent terrorists plots?!) So we have an Australian firm attempting to pass itself off as Locally based - when they don't list anything but an 0800 number (which can easily terminate overseas - many do) and a 'virtual office' address. What a waste. The fact that the company is not infact registered in NZ (despite the virtual address; insofar as I can see no obvious ties to a registered NZ Business as checked in the companies office) means that logging with the Antispam Unit is probably of little value. A shame that AS-NZ antispam ops don't appear to have much guts yet? Anyway, I seriously hope that folks will absolutely refuse to support any business that engages in Unsolicited Commercial Emails (UCE).... I for one could never, ever endorse buying product from this firm or its companions (but note, not the other, similar firm!). And No, i'm not in the market for aerial photography!
|
PollWhere to from Here?New Zealand Open Source Society New Zealand Linux Users Group Auckland Linux Users Group Wellington Linux Users Group Hutt Valley Fire Police Unit IRC Chat for Emergency Services NZ Association of Radio Transmitters UPDATED! Wellington VHF Group Papakura Radio Club NZ Ham Swap - Free Trading Forum for Licensed Amateur Radio Operators. New Zealand Network Operators Group NZ ADSL Mailing Lists Undernet IRC Network The YANZ (Young Amateurs of New Zealand) Site The Ministry of Death - My gaming Clan. BF1942 and BF2 a speciality. The Phenomenon known as the Wikipedia. Just for David. ;-) BlakJak.net Partners
BlogLinks
|
Additional news!
I've had correspondence with someone (yeah, sounds convaluted) who uncovered further detail; it appears the mailout was contracted to none other than 'Image Marketing'... yes... the same outfit run by the notorious spammer, Brendan Battles.
Funny, the last spam i received that was conclusively care of him, was directed at the same email address... !
So yes, it all fits. And it looks like the sod behind Aerial Impressions - Darren Burridge - has had the poor judgement to buy an email marketing service, and the bad luck to pick NZ's most notorious spammer as his service provider.
Lookie Here... I'm not the
Lookie Here...
I'm not the only one - and this is from 2008!